Reupholster a Recliner: Day 7 and Why You Should Buy a Serger

While I have been working for over a week on this chair, I’ve only spent 7 days where I made progress on this project.

Here are the previous 6 work days:

Today I tackled the next big sewing project: the back cushion. This is a challenge because it has piping, extra flaps that attach to a wood frame, and no zipper (so it’s harder to put the cushion back on).

I followed all of the pictures on my cell phone to put the cushion back together and it slowly started to take shape. After everything was put together I serged the inside seams. This past year I invested in a Brother Serger — and it’s amazing. It makes all of my projects look more professional, finished, and provides additional support to make them last. But here’s the biggest reason you should get a serger; in 5 minutes you can turn this:

Back cushion

into this:

Back cushion

 

All of those messy edges are cut and sewn together using an overlock stitch. It prevents fraying and just looks nicer (I know that no one will actually see my inside seams but I know what they look like).

So now the back cushion is complete and ready to be stapled to the frame!

Back cushion